Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: July 10, 2015

by Barry Schwartz

Google Panda Stalled, Asking For Links, SEO Magic & More

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search, I covered the monthly Google Webmaster Report. I also covered how Panda isn’t refreshing this weekend, but maybe next? Google first said you can’t ask for links, now they said you can if it doesn’t violated their guidelines. Google said PDFs do pass link juice and PageRank. Gary Illyes recommends you experiment and learn SEO through successes and failures. He also said you do not need to update your external links to HTTPS, proper redirects will handle it. Google will shorten your long URLs said John Mueller. Many SEOs are still risking it with SAPE links and underground link networks. Google’s Johannes Mehlem was interviewed on spam fighting. Google Web Light is the slow Google server used in India and other places for mobile users. Google AdWords has read now ads. Google is also pulling full reviews from their merchants. Google now lets mobile users add reviews to business listings. Google has a new hotel finder interface. Google posted new guidelines for SEOs that manage their clients Google My Business accounts. Wikipedia almost removed Danny Sullivan’s Wikipedia listing because he was thought not to be notable. SMX disclosed their gender diversity report. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. July 2015 Google Webmaster Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/july-2015-google-webmaster-report-20546.html Google: Panda Still Coming Soon But Maybe Delayed For Technical Reasons : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-panda-soon-technical-20574.html Google: Do Not Even Ask For Links! : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-do-not-ask-for-links-20561.html Google: Sorry, We Meant Don't Ask For Links That Violate Our Guidelines : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-ask-links-updated-20567.html Google: Links Within PDF Documents Pass PageRank : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-pdf-links-pagerank-20573.html Google: Get Your Hands Dirty To Learn : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-hands-dirty-20545.html Google: SEO Magic Is Learned Through Experiments : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-experiment-and-learn-20566.html Google: We Don't Recommend Changing Your Links To HTTPS, Redirects Are Fine : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-link-https-20552.html Google: We Will Shorten Your URLs For You : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-long-to-short-urls-20553.html After Google Slapped Sape Links, Some SEOs Still Swear By Them : https://www.seroundtable.com/sape-links-google-risk-20544.html Google's German Spam Fighter Johannes Mehlem Interviewed : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-german-spam-fighter-johannes-mehlem-20570.html GoogleWebLight.com: Google's Answer To Making Your Web Site Faster : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-google-web-light-20558.html Google AdWords Read Now Ads : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-read-now-ads-20560.html Google What People Are Saying Product Reviews : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-what-people-are-saying-product-reviews-20564.html Mobile Users Can Now Add Reviews On Google Businesses : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-mobile-add-local-reviews-20572.html Google's New Hotel Finder Interface : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-new-hotel-finder-interface-20556.html Google's New Guidelines For Local Business Authorized Representatives : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-guidelines-business-authorized-representatives-20565.html Wikipedia Might Not Consider Danny Sullivan Notable In The Search Industry : https://www.seroundtable.com/wikipedia-danny-sullivan-deletion-20543.html SMX Conference Gender Diversity Report & No Paid To Speak Guideline : https://www.seroundtable.com/smx-conference-gender-diversity-report-20551.html

Read the full article