Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: July 24, 2015

by Barry Schwartz

Google Panda 4.2, Bing Search Change & Google Maps Timeline

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search, we finally had a Google Panda refresh after waiting about 10-months. This is Panda 4.2, it impacted 2-3% of queries, it is going to be a real slow slow roll out. I think my site recovered and if you still don’t believe it, Gary Illyes from Google confirmed there was a Panda refresh. Bing didn’t do a search update but something changed where the analytics shows a drop in organic Bing traffic. Glenn Gabe shared more on the suspected Phantom update from a couple weeks ago. Google said again, TLDs don’t have a magic SEO bullet. Google said content within display:none get less weight with Google. Google says rich snippets don’t belong on your home page. Google hints again at removing your app interstitials. Google said the top ten sites on Google Search Console all go over HTTPS. Google seems to have launched the “people also ask.” Google Hotel Finder has a new interface. Google is going to drop unverified Google My Business listings this Tuesday. Yahoo dropped their local bulk listing service. Google Maps launched a timeline feature. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Google Releases Panda 4.2 & You Didn't Notice : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-panda-42-release-20640.html Stats On My Google Panda 4.2 Recovery : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-panda-42-recovery-20646.html Google Panda Refresh Confirmation Posted By Google's Gary Illyes : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-panda-refresh-gary-confirm-20647.html Bing Search Algorithm Update? Nope, Analytics Tracking Issue. : https://www.seroundtable.com/bing-update-organic-analytics-20615.html Was That A Google Phantom Update Last Week? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-phantom-update-last-week-20619.html Google: New TLDs Have No Magical SEO Bonus : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-new-tlds-seo-20630.html Google: display:none May Backfire; Google Weighs It Less : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-display-none-20626.html Google: Bad HTML Validation Doesn't Hurt Rankings But Can Impact Structured Data : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-html-validation-20633.html Google: Again, Rich Snippets Don't Generally Belong On Home Pages : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-rich-snippets-not-home-20645.html Google Hints At Removing App Interstitials Again : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-interstitials-seo-20643.html Google: Top Ten Verified Web Sites Go Over HTTPS : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-https-top-ten-20616.html Google's "People Also Ask" Search Feature Going Live? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-people-also-ask-push-20637.html Google Hotel Finder Improved Interface Going Live? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-hotel-finder-new-20624.html Notice: Google To Shut Down Unverified Google My Business Listings On July 28th : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-will-shut-down-unverified-google-my-business-listings-on-july-28th-20644.html Yahoo Local Bulk Listing Discontinued : https://www.seroundtable.com/yahoo-local-bulk-listing-discontinued-20636.html Google Maps Timeline; Like Location History : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-maps-timeline-20629.html

Read the full article