Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: November 20, 2015

by Barry Schwartz

Google Update Unconfirmed, Quality Raters Guidelines & App Only Rankings In Google

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This was a pretty busy week in search with some pretty important changes. First, many are seeing ranking changes in Google but Google’s John Mueller said there was no update to announce. Gary Illyes said Google won’t release the Penguin update until it is finished. Google released their full version of their search quality rating guidelines to the world after it was leaked again. Google is now able to rank app only content apps in the mobile search results, with streaming them to Android users - this is big. Plus, Google ranks apps based on content and user metrics, not content and link/PageRank metrics. Google is smarter at understanding your natural language queries now. Google Search Console data is out of date, but it should be fixed soon. Google launched the live blog label and released structured markup to add it to your site. Google doesn’t use structured markup for featured snippets. Google does want you to be able to be able to modify your knowledge panel. Google’s John Mueller number one SEO tip is to be consistent. Google released version 10.0 of the Google iOS Search app. Google added pinch and zoom to the tablet Google search interface. Finally, Duane Forrester formerly of Bing announced he is working for Bruce Clay now. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Google: Despite Chatter, There Is No Update To Announce : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-update-no-21225.html Google's Gary Illyes: Penguin Won't Be Released Unfinished : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-penguin-unfinished-release-21197.html Google Publishes The Full Version Of The Search Quality Rating Guidelines : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-full-version-search-quality-rating-guidelines-21228.html Google's Latest Search Quality Raters Handbook - October 2015 Edition : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-quality-raters-handbook-21207.html Google Now Rank Apps Without Web Content & Can Stream Apps Without Installing Them : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-apps-web-content-stream-apps-21222.html Google Does Use User Metrics For App Rankings But Not Web Rankings : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-does-use-user-metrics-for-app-rankings-21227.html Google Search Smarter At Superlatives, Times & Complicated Queries : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-is-now-smarter-with-superlatives-times-complicated-queries-21204.html Google Search Console Data Should Be Resolved By End Of Week : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-console-data-fix-21216.html Google Launches Red Live Label & Live Blogs Schema Markup : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-live-label-live-blogs-schema-21220.html Google: Structured Data Not Currently Used For Featured Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-structured-data-not-featured-snippets-21206.html Google Wants To Let You Modify Your Knowledge Panel : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-modify-knowledge-panel-snippets-21213.html Google John Mueller: Top SEO Advice "Be Consistent" : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-number-one-seo-advice-be-consistent-21196.html Google Releases Version 10.0 Of The iOS Search App : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-ios-search-app-21221.html Google Adds Pinch & Zoom To Tablet Search Interface After Complaints : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-tablet-search-interface-pinch-zoom-21219.html Duane Forrester Now Working At Bruce Clay : https://www.seroundtable.com/duane-forrester-joins-bruce-clay-21210.html

Read the full article