Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: November 27, 2015

by Barry Schwartz

Google Ambient Computing, AMP Pages, Penguin & Star Wars Search

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - Happy Black Friday everyone, this week in search, we covered some important topics. First, Google had a nice story in TIME about their StarTrek communicator device, but I found one of the top engineers working on that and shared what he had to say about it - including the universal assistant and ambient computing. Google said the next Penguin update will be huge. Gary Illyes explained he doesn’t work specifically in the Penguin code. Only a small group has access to Google’s search algorithm. Google will target deceptive mobile redirects through mobile affiliate traffic networks. Google’s site command will now show featured snippets, which is nice. John Mueller of Google said you don’t need to write expert product descriptions. Google had a code error that knocked TripAdvisor and Yelp out of the race in t he mobile results. Google removed reviews and a lot more from the new Google+ business pages. Google Place Actions is a new undocumented rich snippet coming soon. Also check out the Star Wars Google search user interface, it is so cool. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Google's Universal Assistant & Ambient Computing To Change Search As We Know It : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-universal-assistant-21258.html Accelerated Mobile Pages For Google Search Coming Soon : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-accelerated-mobile-pages-coming-21250.html Google: The Next Penguin Update Will Be A Huge Change, Real-Time : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-penguin-update-a-huge-change-21242.html Google's Gary Illyes: I Don't Actively Work On The Penguin Algorithm : https://www.seroundtable.com/gary-illyes-google-penguin-algorithm-21249.html Google: Only A Very Small Group Has Access To The Google Search Algorithms : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-small-group-access-search-algorithms-21257.html Google To Target Deceptive Mobile Affiliate Traffic Networks : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-mobile-affiliate-traffic-networks-21234.html Google Site Command May Return Featured Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-site-command-featured-snippets-21233.html Google's John Mueller: Expert Product Descriptions Not Critical For Rankings? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-expert-product-descriptions-21235.html Google Search Code Error Hurts Rankings For Yelp & TripAdvisor : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-code-error-hurts-rank-yelp-tripadvisor-21256.html Google Removes Reviews From New Google+ Local Listings : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-drops-reviews-from-google-local-listings-21243.html Official Details From Google On New Google+ Local Pages : https://www.seroundtable.com/new-google-local-pages-21248.html Google Place Actions: New Rich Snippet Markup Coming Soon? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-place-actions-21247.html So Cool: Google Warped Their Search Results For Star Wars : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-star-wars-search-results-21245.html

Read the full article