Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: January 29, 2016

by Barry Schwartz

Google Guidelines Update, Structured Data, AdWords iOS App & AMP

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search was a bit calmer as the search results didn’t fluctuation as much in Google. Google’s Matt Cutts explained why he thinks there was so much fluctuation in January, because of a code freeze. Google published a new Google Webmaster Guidelines document and we documented the changes. Google said it can take a really long time for images to be updated in their index. Google said they plan to add JSON-LD for rich snippets. Google said valid HTML not required for ranking but helps with structured data and mobile friendliness. Google said they will step up structured data support this year. Google said links in footers and sitewides are weighted less. No need to nofollow the related post widgets on your site. Google said outbound links are not a ranking factor. Google will pick the shorter URL for canonicalization. Google said write your reconsideration requests in the web site language. Google is sending AMP notifications via the Search Console. Google AdWords added formula support to custom columns. Google AdWords launched their iOS app this week. Some Google AdSense publishers are still waiting to be paid. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Clear Skies & Relaxing Weekend In Terms Of Google Fluctuations : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-weekend-calm-21528.html Matt Cutts: Google Core Updates Were So Drastic Due To End Of Year Code Freeze : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-matt-cutts-core-updates-code-freeze-21531.html The New Google Webmaster Guidelines Are Now Live : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-revamps-webmaster-guidelines-21547.html What Changed In The Google Webmaster Guidelines : https://www.seroundtable.com/changes-in-the-google-webmaster-guidelines-21551.html Google: Updating Images Can Take Months; We Don't Index Them Frequently : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-image-indexing-21533.html Google To Add JSON-LD Support For Rich Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-json-ld-rich-snippet-21535.html Google: Valid HTML Not Required For Ranking But Can Hurt Structured Data & Mobile Friendliness : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-invalid-html-concern-21556.html Google To Step Up Structured Data Support Over The Year : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-to-step-up-structured-data-support-this-year-21557.html Google: Links In Footers Or Sitewides Are Not Given That Much Weight : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-footer-sitewide-links-weight-21540.html Google: Nofollow Unnecessary For Related Post Blog Links : https://www.seroundtable.com/related-post-blog-links-google-nofollow-21546.html Google: Outbound Links Are Not A Ranking Factor : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-says-outbound-links-are-not-a-ranking-factor-21545.html Google: We Pick Shorter URLs For Canonicalization : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-url-length-21541.html Google: Write Your Reconsideration Requests In Your Web Site's Native Language Or Else... : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-write-your-reconsideration-request-in-the-language-of-your-web-site-21554.html Google Sending Notifications Via Search Console To Go AMP : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-sending-amp-notifications-21555.html Google AdWords Adds Custom Formulas Support To Custom Columns : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-custom-columns-custom-formulas-21538.html Google AdWords iOS App Officially Launches : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-officially-launched-the-google-adwords-ios-app-21553.html Many Google AdSense Publishers Still Waiting For Their January Payments : https://www.seroundtable.com/oogle-adsense-publishers-payments-missing-21534.html

Read the full article