Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: February 5, 2016

by Barry Schwartz

Amit Singhal To Retire, Google Japan Penalties & Family Reunited Via Google

https://www.SERoundable.com/ - This week in search, Amit Singhal, the head of Google search, has announced he is retiring this month from Google after 15+ years. Google Japan issued link penalties to a Japanese link network. I posted the monthly Google webmaster report. Google launched a troubleshooter tool in the Google News Publisher Center. Google’s John Mueller posted an FAQs on migrating from HTTP to HTTPS. Google added JSON-LD support for reviews and product structured data markup. Google said local reviews are not a web search ranking factor. Google said 302 redirects can and do pass PageRank. Google said keywords in the URL are a small ranking factor. Search for face or pint in Google and you get Facebook and Pinterest. Google is showing Facebook results for featured snippets. Google said the Fetch As Google feature only works for the web index. Google is testing a trusted verifier program for local data. I did a Q&A interview with former Googler, Pedro Dias on the SEO community. Google has helped a family reunited after 60 years! That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Amit Singhal, The Head Of Google Search To Retire But Why? : https://www.seroundtable.com/amit-singhal-the-head-of-google-search-to-retire-21585.html Google Japan Issues Link Network Penalties : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-japan-link-networks-penalty-21593.html February 2016 Google Webmaster Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/february-2016-google-webmaster-report-21579.html Google Launches Troubleshooting Tool In News Publisher Center : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-news-troubleshooting-tool-in-publisher-center-21591.html Google's FAQ On HTTP To HTTPS Migration : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-faq-on-http-to-https-migration-21568.html Google Officially Adds JSON-LD Support For Reviews & Products Structured Data Markup : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adds-json-ld-support-for-reviews-products-structured-data-markup-21584.html Google: Local Reviews Are Not A Web Search Ranking Factor : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-local-reviews-are-not-a-web-search-ranking-factor-21578.html Google: 302 Redirects Pass PageRank : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-302-redirects-pass-pagerank-21575.html Google: Keywords In URLs A Very Small Ranking Factor : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-keywords-in-urls-a-small-ranking-factor-21577.html Google Showing "Including Results For" Feature For Navigational Queries : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-including-results-navigational-queries-21581.html Should Facebook Be A Source For Featured Snippets? : https://www.seroundtable.com/should-facebook-rank-for-featured-snippets-21583.html Google: Fetch As Google Only For Web Index : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-fetch-as-google-only-for-web-index-21562.html Google Trusted Verifier Program For In Person Business Verification : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-trusted-verifier-program-21586.html Q&A With Pedro Dias, Former Googler, On The SEO Community : https://www.seroundtable.com/q-a-with-pedro-dias-on-the-seo-community-21563.html Google Helps Family Reunite With Lost Nephew After 60 Years : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-family-reunited-21570.html

Read the full article