Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: April 8, 2016

by Barry Schwartz

Google Penguin Test, Google Local Rankings, Google Quality Raters & More

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search, we may have spotted Google testing an updated algorithm for 12 hours, some say Penguin, some say not. I published the Google Webmaster Report for April this week. Google expanded their document on how local ranking works in greater detail. Google updated their search quality raters guidelines. Former Googler explained that some manual actions have some automation to it. He also said they do go through PR training before doing webmaster outreach. Google warns the site owner if their site is not mobile friendly in the mobile search results. Google sent out PageSpeed module notifications for those using the old modules. Google’s John Mueller went through how Google handles various redirects. Google doesn’t give a ranking boost for going HTTP/2. Google may have expanded their featured snippets into other European regions. Google no longer requires a Google+ account to leave reviews on local listings. Google is testing showing mini reviews in the local pack. Google links to Fandango for movie listings. Google AdWords is testing a large green call button. Google AdWords new nearby interface looks way too like the organic results. The new Google My Business iOS App update crashes, it should let you set your special business hours better. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Is Google Testing The Penguin 4.0 Algorithm? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-testing-the-new-penguin-algorithm-21892.html April 2016 Google Webmaster Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/april-2016-google-webmaster-report-21885.html Google Expands Local Ranking Help Document : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-expands-local-ranking-help-document-21867.html Google Updated Quality Raters Guidelines Last Week : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-updates-quality-raters-guidelines-21878.html Former Googler On Why Do Some Google Manual Actions Seem Automated : https://www.seroundtable.com/why-do-some-google-manual-actions-seem-automated-21899.html Google Employees Do Get PR Training For Webmaster Outreach : https://www.seroundtable.com/googlers-do-get-pr-training-for-webmaster-outreach-21890.html Google Showing Site Owner; Your Page Is Not Mobile-Friendly In Search Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-your-page-is-not-mobile-friendly-in-search-results-21897.html Google Sending Recommended PageSpeed Update Available Notifications : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-recommended-pagespeed-update-available-21896.html Google's John Mueller On How They Handle 301, 302, 307 & Other Redirects : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-documents-how-they-handle-301-301-307-other-redirects-21902.html Google: HTTP/2 Doesn't Have A Direct SEO Benefit But Makes For Faster Sites : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-http-2-seo-benefit-speed-21883.html RankRanger: Google Featured Snippets Expand To More European Search Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-featured-snippets-expand-to-more-european-markets-21903.html Google Changes Local Reviews - Removes Google+ Page & Simplifies Adding Reviews : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-changes-local-reviews-21874.html New: Google Review Snippets In Local Pack : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-tests-review-snippets-in-local-pack-21881.html Google Movie Listings Direct You To Fandango : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-movie-listings-link-to-fandango-21877.html Google AdWords Testing Green Call/Phone Icon Button : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-testing-green-call-phone-icon-ad-21876.html Google's New Nearby Ad Format Looks Like Free Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-nearby-ad-format-looks-like-organic-results-21904.html Google Removes My Business iOS App From App Store After Serious Bug : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-my-business-ios-app-removed-app-store-21905.html

Read the full article