Video Recap of Weekly Search Buzz :: April 15, 2016

by Barry Schwartz

Google Zombies, Google Outbound Link Penalties For Free Reviews & In-Depth Articles Gone

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search, we reported about the Google zombie traffic phenomenon again and how it is spiking up. Google issued mass unnatural outbound link penalties this past weekend over bloggers offering free product reviews in exchange for free products. Google is sending out warnings to webmasters for deceptive download buttons. Google has dropped out in-depth articles from the search results. Google said they will announce when they begin rolling out Penguin 4.0. Google said while one algorithm can knock you down, another one can bring you up. Google’s John Mueller added more advice on handling products that no longer exist. Google said footer content isn’t penalized but rather not weighted as highly. Google said it is okay to mix up the types of mobile friendly technology you use on your site. Google does index and rank the title attribute in images. Google’s My Business iOS app is now out and ready. Google added gas prices to the local 3-pack and also added filter options. Google now takes action against publishers who do clickjacking. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Webmaster See Spike In Google Zombie Traffic : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-zombie-traffic-continues-increases-21928.html Google Issues Mass Unnatural Outbound Links Penalties Over Weekend : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-issues-unnatural-outbound-links-penalties-21910.html Google Slaps Mass Manual Actions For Outbound Links Over Free Product Reviews : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-mass-manual-actions-free-product-reviews-21917.html Google Now Sending Webmasters Deceptive Site / Social Engineering Detected Warnings : https://www.seroundtable.com/webmasters-deceptive-site-social-engineering-detected-google-warnings-21925.html Google Completely Drops In-Depth Articles : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-drops-in-depth-articles-21914.html Google: When Penguin Begins Rolling Out, We Will Post An Announcement : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-to-announce-penguin-launch-21940.html Google: You Can Be Negatively Impacted By One Algorithm & Positively Impacted By Another : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-ranking-algorithm-hits-21942.html Google's John Mueller On Redirecting vs 404ing Products That No Longer Exist : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-on-redirecting-vs-404ing-products-that-no-longer-exist-21927.html Google: Footer Content Is Not Penalized But Not Seen As Primary Content : https://www.seroundtable.com/footer-boilerplate-content-google-21941.html Google: Mixing Mobile Friendly Types (i.e. Responsive, Dynamic Serving & Seperate URLs) On One Site Is Fine : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-mix-mobile-friendly-types-21912.html Google Does Index & Rank Images Title Attribute Tags : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-does-index-rank-title-attribute-tag-in-images-21932.html Google My Business App For iOS Available For Download : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-my-business-app-for-ios-now-available-for-download-21918.html Gas Prices Come To The Google Local Pack : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-local-pack-results-get-gas-prices-21924.html Google Local Pack Gets Search Filters For Map Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-local-pack-gets-search-filter-bubbles-21939.html Google Takes Action Against Publishers Who Do Clickjacking : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-takes-aim-at-clickjacking-21933.html

Read the full article