Search Buzz Video Recap: Google Penalizes, SEO, AdWords Editor & More

by Barry Schwartz

Google Penalizes, SEO, AdWords Editor & More

https://www.SERoundtable.com/ - This week in search we posted our monthly Google webmaster report. I covered the Google web spam report which showed Google issued about 500 manual actions per hour last year. Google penalized a lot of big airline sites for showing product rich snippets in a spammy way. Google warned publishers again against using sneaky mobile redirect. Google’s Gary Illyes called it stupid that news sites don’t link out and it makes him angry. He also said we don’t notice most of the Google algorithm updates. And he said that fewer higher quality pages lead to higher quality traffic. Google said keep your sitemaps for 6 months when you use it to expedite redirects. The Google Search Console updated the AMP error report. Google is testing a new mobile friendly testing tool. Google has new extended featured snippets. Google is testing larger margins and white space. Google AdWords Editor updated and so did the Google My Business API. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. May 2016 Google Webmaster Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/may-2016-google-webmaster-report-22038.html Google Webspam Report: Google Manually Penalized 500 Sites Per Hour In 2015 : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-webspam-report-22021.html Google Penalizes Flight Industry Web Sites By Removing Their Rich Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-takes-action-on-flight-rich-snippet-markup-22029.html Google Warns Again: We Will Penalize You For Sneaky Mobile Redirects : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-warns-again-penalize-sneaky-mobile-redirects-22037.html Google's Gary Illyes: I'm Angry News Sites Don't Link Out, It's Stupid : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-im-angry-news-sites-don-t-link-out-it-s-stupid-22041.html Google: Most Algorithm Updates Go Unnoticed : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-most-algorithm-updates-go-unnoticed-22045.html Google: Fewer Higher Quality Pages Leads To Higher Quality Traffic From Google : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-fewer-better-quality-pages-leads-to-higher-quality-traffic-22044.html Google On Using Sitemaps For Expediting Redirects: Keep Sitemap Live For 6 Months : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-on-using-sitemaps-for-redirects-keep-sitemap-live-for-6-months-22030.html Google Search Console Improves AMP Error Report : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-search-console-amp-error-report-update-22035.html Confirmed: Google Is Testing A New Mobile Friendly Test : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-confirms-testing-new-mobile-friendly-test-22023.html Google Migrating Google Search Console URL & New Mobile Friendly Test : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-migrating-google-search-console-url-22017.html Google Extended Featured Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-extended-featured-snippets-22034.html Google Testing Larger Margins & Spaces Between Search Snippets : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-testing-bigger-margins-spaces-between-search-snippets-22036.html Google Upgrades AdWords Editor With More App Features : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-upgrades-adwords-editor-to-version-11-4-22028.html Google My Business API Version 3.0 Is Out With New Features : https://www.seroundtable.com/version-3-0-google-my-business-api-22042.html

Read the full article