Search Buzz Video Recap: Google Algo Update, Google I/O, Testing, AdWords, Local & Matt Cutts

by Barry Schwartz

Google Algo Update, Google I/O, Testing, AdWords, Local & Matt Cutts

https://www.SERroundtable.com/ - This week we covered a possible Google algorithm update that started rolling out on May 17th. Google I/O was this week and there were updates to Google Assistant and Google Home, amongst other things. Google confirmed at I/O that they are launching their Google for Jobs search feature. Google said engineers do understand the full algorithm. Google is testing dropping featured snippets from the core web results. Google dropped many of the “best of” or “top” carousel answers. Google said they may automatically nofollow widget links. Google started a new workgroup for search to work better with JavaScript. Google will be adding to the Fetch and Render tool JavaScript code review. Google said you should try to use anchor text and image alt text. Google Maps is testing highlight icons in the local panel. Google hotel search is rolling out pricing trends graph. Google AdWords changed ad rank thresholds, which can impact CPCs. Google AdWords added historical quality score metrics. Google AdWords enabled scheduled conversion imports. Google launched a beta sign up form for Purchases on Google. Google AdWords is testing drop down price extensions in carousel form. Google is testing AfWords car stack formats. Google is testing blue bars in the black UI test. Google is also testing large arrows for paginating through search results. Google tests dropping hotel prices from hotel listings. Google Analytics improved their AMP tracking support. Google AdSense can now panelize on the page level vs whole site. Google AdSense is testing show more ad link units. Finally, Matt Cutts is giving a talk at Google today. That was this past week in search at the Search Engine Roundtable. Was There A Google Algorithm Update Starting On Wednesday? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-algorithm-update-may-17-23880.html Google Assistant Adds iPhone Support, Home Calling, Google Lens & More : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-assistant-ios-call-lens-23873.html Google Confirms Jobs For Search Is Rolling Out : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-for-jobs-23872.html Google: We Do Understand Our Highly Complex Algorithms : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-understand-complex-algorithms-23848.html Google Tests Dropping The Featured Snippet Result From Core Results? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-featured-snippets-missing-23850.html Google Drops Some Top Carousels For "Best" Or "Top" Like Queries : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-carousel-best-or-top-like-queries-23846.html Google: We May Automatically Nofollow Widget Links : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-auto-nofollow-widget-links-23869.html Google's New Workgroup For JavaScript & Search : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-workgroup-for-javascript-search-23862.html Google To Add JavaScript Rendered Code In Fetch & Render Tool : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-javascript-rendered-code-fetch-render-23868.html Google: Try To Use Anchor Text & Image Alt Text : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-anchor-text-image-alt-text-23856.html Google Maps Local Panel Tests Highlight Icons : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-maps-local-panel-highlight-icons-23860.html Google Hotel Search Rolls Out Pricing Trends Graph : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-hotel-rolls-out-price-trends-graph-23879.html Google AdWords Changes Ad Rank Thresholds : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-ad-rank-thresholds-23863.html Google AdWords Historical Quality Score In Reports Now : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-historical-quality-score-23853.html Google AdWords Adds Scheduled Conversion Imports : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-automated-conversion-imports-23864.html Sign Up For Beta Purchases On Google : https://www.seroundtable.com/purchases-on-google-beta-23877.html Google AdWords Tests Expand Out Carousel Price Extensions : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-adwords-expand-out-carousel-extensions-23878.html Google Tests AdWords Ad Car Stack Format : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-tests-adwords-ad-car-stack-format-23849.html Google Black Design Tests Now With Blue Bars : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-black-design-blue-bars-23871.html Google Testing Large Arrows For Search Results Pagination Controls? : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-tests-large-arrows-23855.html Google Tests Removing Pricing From Hotel Listing Results : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-test-remove-pricing-hotel-23866.html Google Analytics Improves AMP Tracking Support : https://www.seroundtable.com/google-analytics-amp-support-23861.html and more...

Read the full article