Fujian (Chinese: 福建; About this sound listen ), formerly romanised as Fukien or Foukien, is a province on the southeast coast of mainland China. Fujian is bordered by Zhejiang to the north, Jiangxi to the west, and Guangdong to the south. Taiwan lies to the east, across the Taiwan Strait. The name Fujian came from the combination of Fuzhou and Jianzhou (a former name for Jian'ou) two cities in Fujian, during the Tang dynasty. With a Han majority, it is one of the most culturally and linguistically diverse provinces in China.Most of Fujian is administered by the People's Republic of China. However, the archipelagos of Kinmen, Matsu, and Wuqiu are under the control of the Republic of China.
Posts about Fujian

No posts yet

Please check again later.
Get the top posts daily into your mailbox!