Habesh Eyalet (Ottoman Turkish: ایالت حبش; Eyālet-i Ḥabeš), was an Ottoman eyalet. It was also known as the Eyalet of Jeddah and Habesh, as Jeddah was its chief town, and Habesh and Hejaz. It extended on the areas of coastal Hejaz and Northeast Africa that border the Red Sea basin. On the Northeast African side, it comprised Massawa, Hirgigo, Suakin and their hinterlands.Like Ottoman control in North Africa, Yemen, Bahrain, and Lahsa, the Ottomans had no "effective, long term control" outside of the ports where there was a direct Ottoman presence and garrison.
Posts about Habesh

No posts yet

Please check again later.
Get the top posts daily into your mailbox!