Lorraine (French pronunciation: ​[lɔʁɛn]; Lorrain: Louréne; Lorraine Franconian: Lottringe; German: About this sound Lothringen ) is one of the 27 regions of France. The administrative region has two cities of equal importance: Metz, the regional prefecture and Nancy. Lorraine's name is derived from the medieval kingdom of Lotharingia, which in turn was named for either Emperor Lothair I or King Lothair II.As a region in modern France, Lorraine consists of the four departments Meurthe-et-Moselle, Meuse, Moselle and Vosges, and contains 2,337 communes.
Posts about Lorraine
Get the top posts daily into your mailbox!