The Heath Brothers

The Heath Brothers is an American jazz group, formed in 1975 by the brothers Jimmy (tenor saxophone), Percy (bass), and Albert "Tootie" Heath (drums); and pianist Stanley Cowell in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Tony Purrone (guitar) and Jimmy's son Mtume (percussion) joined the group later. Tootie left in 1978, and was replaced by Akira Tana for a short period before returning in 1982. They also added other sidemen for some of their recording dates.The group still exists with just two of the brothers, Jimmy and Tootie, and additional sidemen as needed.
Posts about The Heath Brothers
Get the top posts daily into your mailbox!